Hopes for better server printing options…

I just spent yet another long trouble shooting session trying to make W2K print from a web site. I would really love to be proved wrong on this, and have had trouble finding any documentation at all that helps, but it always seems that Windows printing functionality is tied to user settings. For a server, this is just wrong. Just consider printing server side from a web application that is setup to use impersonation. What are the default printers? How do you select a paper try? Postscript options? Font downloads? I have fought this it seems for years. Perhaps my concept is wrong. In the unix days, you setup up a queue for each printer setup you wanted and then printed to it. Couldn’t be simpler. I really want something like that in the new version of Windows.

Comments are closed.